countries that require visa

Are you going to travel abroad and have you already started preparations? Well, know that it's good to organize yourself in advance so that unpleasant unforeseen events do not arise along the way. Have you ever thought about finding out when you board that you don't have authorization to enter that country? This could mean that months of travel preparation, in addition to the money spent, could be wasted. So if you're going to travel abroad It is good for you to know which countries need a visa to authorize your entry.

Let's talk all about it in the topics below! Keep reading!

countries that require visa

What is the visa?

The Visa is a document issued by the consulate of a country where it authorizes people to enter the country of destination. For example, the US consulate in Brazil issues a visa authorizing a Brazilian to enter the United States. To get a visa you have to choose the type, work, tourist, student and others, and then fill out some forms and go through an interview.

There are seven types of visas, and we'll talk about each one below.

Transit visa:

This visa is valid for only a few days, as it serves to authorize a person to stay between one or three days in a country until it boards to its final destination.

Tourist visa:

This type of visa is valid for a few months., where people are authorized to travel for leisure, with this type of visa people cannot legally engage in remunerated activity.

Work visa:

This visa is valid a little longer than the others and allows the holder to carry out paid work in another country.

Student visa:

Allows the holder to study at educational institutions in the destination country, it also allows the student to do internships and work during the holidays.

Diplomatic visa:

Destined to diplomats on official trips to other countries.

Business visa:

Aimed at people who go to other countries to do business business.

Journalist visa:

Necessary for professionals who go to other countries representing their companies, or to cover specific events.

Fiancé visa:

Temporary visa for people who areare in other countries to marry a native, the visa is valid until the wedding date.

Countries where a visa is required

Latin American countries do not require a visa for Brazilians once they have an agreement, even in some countries like Argentina, all you need is an identity card to be able to visit the country. But not everyone is like that, some countries only allow foreigners to enter upon presentation of a visa and in some it is also necessary to present travel insurance that covers medical expenses. In some countries it is possible to apply for a visa at the airport itself, but this must be checked in advance. See below, in alphabetical order, the countries that require a visa.

  • Afghanistan
  • Algeria
  • Armenia
  • Angola
  • Australia
  • Bangladesh
  • benin
  • Burkina Faso
  • Cape Green
  • Cameroon
  • Cambodia
  • Canada
  • Qatar
  • China
  • Congo
  • Cuba
  • Egypt
  • El Salvador
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United States
  • Ethiopia
  • Gabon
  • Ghana
  • India
  • Honduras
  • Will
  • Iraq
  • Indonesia
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Laos
  • mali
  • Mozambique
  • Nepal
  • Nigeria
  • Kenya
  • Republic of Guinea
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Vietnam
  • Tanzania

Heads up! This list was made in August 2016. Depending on the date you are accessing this article, a country may have been added or removed from the list of countries that require a visa. Therefore, we recommend that you consult the consulate of your destination country.


Written by

Fernanda Smith

Fernanda Smith is a master's student in language sciences at the Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, graduated in Journalism at the same institution that supports rubro negro.